Skip to main content
SI
TheBestSI
AI Models & Research

Frontier AI Models & Architectures

AI models differ profoundly in reasoning depth, active context window fidelity, token pricing, inference speed, and data privacy. Meaningful evaluation requires testing real-world cognitive workloads beyond synthetic benchmarks.

Model list prices

USD per million tokens, as displayed on each provider’s pricing page on October 18, 2026. Prices change often and some depend on prompt length or time of day, so confirm before you buy.

Model list prices per million tokens
ModelProviderContextInputOutputNotes
Claude Fable 5.1Anthropic1M$10$50
Claude Opus 5.5Anthropic1M$4$20
Claude Sonnet 5.5Anthropic1M$2$10
Claude Haiku 5.5Anthropic1Mfrom $0.10from $0.50Priced by prompt length; prompts over 100K tokens cost more.
GPT-6 AstraOpenAI1.05M$10$50Long prompts can cost more; see OpenAI’s pricing page.
GPT-6.1 SolOpenAI1.05M$2$10Long prompts can cost more; see OpenAI’s pricing page.
GPT-6 LunaOpenAI1.05M$0.10$0.50Long prompts can cost more; see OpenAI’s pricing page.
Gemini 3.8 FlashGoogleNot stated$0.75$3.75Listed to double on 2027-01-01. Checked by BestSuperintelligent.com.
DeepSeek V4.1 FlashDeepSeek1M$0.30$1.20Half price off-peak. Checked by BestSuperintelligent.com.
GLM-5.3Zhipu (Z.ai)Not stated$1.40$4.40Checked by BestSuperintelligent.com.
Grok 4.7xAI500K$2$6Price rises above 200K-token prompts. Checked by BestSuperintelligent.com.

Anthropic and OpenAI rows were read from the providers’ own pricing documentation. Rows marked as checked by BestSuperintelligent.com come from our sister site, which compared them with vendor pages on the same date. Full detail and sources: BestSuperintelligent.com model data. Official pricing: Anthropic, OpenAI.

Explore Specialized Model Evaluations:

Frontier Model Families

Claude

Anthropic
License: proprietaryCurrent lineup: Claude Fable 5.1, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, and Haiku 5.51M-token context window and 128K max output tokens on current models (Claude API).
Official docs →

Key Strengths

  • ✓Anthropic positions Opus 5.5 for long-running agentic coding and knowledge work
  • ✓Adaptive thinking lets the model decide how much to reason, steered by an effort setting
  • ✓Wide platform availability: Claude API, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Foundry

Primary Limitations

  • ✕The API accepts text and image input; audio and video input are not listed for current models
  • ✕Anthropic’s most capable tier (Fable) is slower and priced higher than the other tiers
Best for
Agentic and multi-file codingLong-document analysisHigh-volume classification and extraction (Haiku tier)

GPT

OpenAI
License: proprietaryCurrent lineup: GPT-6 Astra (flagship), GPT-6.1 Sol, and GPT-6 Luna1.05M-token context window and 128K max output tokens listed for each model (OpenAI API).
Official docs →

Key Strengths

  • ✓OpenAI recommends GPT-6 Astra as its flagship for complex reasoning and coding
  • ✓Same large context and output limits across all three listed models
  • ✓Large surrounding ecosystem in the ChatGPT product, including voice and custom assistants

Primary Limitations

  • ✕Long prompts can be billed at higher rates; check the pricing page for thresholds
  • ✕Consumer-plan data use depends on a setting you control; see the data-controls page
Best for
Complex reasoning and codingBroad everyday assistant useWorkflows built on the ChatGPT ecosystem

Gemini

Google DeepMind
License: proprietaryCurrent lineup: Gemini 4 Argon (flagship), plus Gemini 3.x Flash and Flash-Lite modelsGemini 4 Argon: 1M-token context window with outputs up to 1M tokens. Limits for other models are not stated on Google’s model list.
Official docs →

Key Strengths

  • ✓Google describes Gemini 4 Argon as its flagship reasoning model
  • ✓Very long output limit on the flagship model
  • ✓Broad family covering text, live audio, speech, transcription, and image models

Primary Limitations

  • ✕Several Gemini 3 models are still labeled preview, and older ones have been shut down, so model IDs change often
  • ✕Per-model limits are not all listed in one place; confirm on each model page
Best for
Very long outputsAudio and live-voice applicationsGoogle Cloud and Workspace integrations

Open-weights models

Multiple providers
License: open-weightsCurrent lineup: Several competing families, including DeepSeek, Qwen, Kimi, GLM, Mistral, Gemma, gpt-oss, and LlamaContext windows and sizes vary by model; check each model card.
Official docs →

Key Strengths

  • ✓You can run them on your own infrastructure, keeping data in-house
  • ✓Can be fine-tuned for specialized internal tasks
  • ✓Many strong options now come from several different labs, so there is no single default choice

Primary Limitations

  • ✕Licenses differ by model, from permissive terms to custom conditions; read the model card before deploying
  • ✕The largest models need substantial GPU infrastructure to run
Best for
Private deployments with data-residency needsFine-tuned internal agentsCost-controlled high-volume inference